Fairy Tale Giveaway

I love my new site.  It’s so pretty and shiny and yellow.  In my world yellow = happiness.  I think it is such a friendly, soothing, cozy color.  So many of the best things are yellow.  Sunshine.  Lemons.  Butter (mmm, everything is better with butter).  Pineapple.  Daffodils.  I adore it!

The hard part about starting a new site is that you pretty much leave all your followers back on the old one (it’s still there, I’m using it more as a personal site now).  So what do you do?  You can remind them, and then remind some more, and become totally annoying and needy sounding.  Or you can bribe them.  I kind of feel like “oh here, be my friend to win something” is kind of a lame way to go about things . . . but you know what, it works!  And I want to meet new and exciting people too!  New and exciting people deserve a giveaway, right?

However, I won’t make you be my friend so you can win, but I will offer it as an extra entry option.  That makes me feel slightly less needy!

My first novel is a retelling of a fairy tale.  It’s called Awake: A Sleeping Beauty Story and you can read all about it here.  And read an excerpt here.  In keeping with that theme, I am offering a “Fairy Tale Giveaway.”

There are three prizes:

 


First up, a copy of one of my favorite fairy tale retellings ever: Beauty by Robin McKinley.  I love this story.  Desperately love it.  And I want you to love it too!  McKinley’s lyrical style has greatly influenced me as a reader and a writer.  The way she writes magic is so real and tangible, but so breathtakingly beautiful at the same time . . . yeah, I’m a fangirl.

 

 

Second, a copy of The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald.  My fondest memories of this book aren’t of reading this by myself, though I did that often, but of having it read to me (multiple times) by my Mom.  I cannot express to you how much this story has become part of my imagination.  It’s one of those things that shapes you so strongly that you aren’t even necessarily aware of it, and then you reread, or a phrase or image floats through your mind, and you recognize the fingerprints of a master storyteller.  There is a reason that both Lewis and Tolkien were devotees of MacDonald: He was the king of fairy tales.  If you haven’t read The Princess and the Goblin yet, you are in for a serious treat!

 

 

 

And last but certainly not least, a “fairy tale” vintage dictionary necklace.  Isn’t this amazing?  Yes, it really is made out of a page from a vintage dictionary.  I got myself one for my birthday with my “Grammy” money (she doesn’t buy us gifts, she sends cash and we have to buy and wrap our own gift.  It works out perfectly), and while I was at it I got one for you too!  This necklace was handmade by KraftyKash.

 

This giveaway is open internationally!  I am more than willing to send these little bits of fairy tale goodness to you wherever you might be in the world!

 

And now, for entries:

 

Mandatory Entry:

 

Just leave me a comment telling me what your favorite fairy tale is!  Simple. Easy, peasy!

 

Extra Entries:

(leave a comment for each entry please!)

 

Follow my shiny, new, yellow blog via Google Friend Connect

 

Follow Jessica Grey on Twitter

 

Tweet about this giveaway (you could do this once daily if you want, leave a comment for each tweet!)

 

suggested tweet:

Want a little more “once upon a time” in your life? Win a fairy tale prize pack from @_JessicaGrey  http://bit.ly/n1vkar

 

Follow Jessica Grey on Facebook

 

Check out the first chapter of my novel and let me know what you think in a comment on that post (leave a comment here telling me you did)

 

Link to this post on Facebook or your blog

 

Thank you for entering!  This giveaway will remain open through 11/15/11 at 11:59pm MST.  I will use Random.org to select a winner.  This giveaway is open internationally.

 

Thank you to everyone who entered! This giveaway is now closed. 

148 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Giveaway

  1. Thank you for offering such a unique giveaway! I love fairy tales especially because we grew up with no TV. Our parents would read fairy tales to us. I would have to say my favorite is: Cinderella. It thought us kids that doing good and being good no matter how hard a situation may be…it was worth it in the end. I love the movie ‘Ever After’ that takes from Cinderella! Happy Ever After 😀 Love it! I am already following both your accounts on Twitter. Susan (atbromiegirl)

  2. My favorite fairy tale is the original version of Little Red Ridinghood. The one where she saves herself!

Comments are closed.