Front Row. Hands Up. Here We Go!

The insanity known as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short) is just around the corner! I will be working on my Austenesque novel Attempting Elizabeth as I also try to move and prepare for the holidays.

My daughter, Maddie, loves fast rides. She puts her hands up on roller coasters. She’s three. Actually, she’s been doing this since she was two. Gadget’s Go-Go-Coaster in Toontown at Disneyland? Front row. Hands up. Yes siree, Bob. She also has tackled the Matterhorn at least four times. Her dry comment as we whizzed by the Abominable Snowman? “Oooooh, ‘citing!”

This could be partially my fault. I’ve always tried to have her look at things as exciting instead of scary. I started this really young with Maddie, before I knew that she was a natural born dare-devil. I am now rethinking that particular parenting strategy (do you know kids that literally climb walls? I have one!)

However, I think that Maddie has a pretty darn good outlook on roller coasters, and on life. It doesn’t have to be scary. It can be “‘citing!” So that is how I choose to look at NaNoWriMo and the whole rest of November. It’s going to be an exciting ride!

Front row.

Hands up.

Here we go!

Want to join me on NaNoWriMo?  Here is the link to my profile.  Let’s be buddies!
12 thoughts on “Front Row. Hands Up. Here We Go!

      1. You bet I am! I may hate roller coasters (did you catch the look of sheer terror on my face when I posted the Splash Mountain pic?) but NaNo is by favorite time of the year. After Christmas, that is.

  1. I *love*love*love NaNoWriMo. I’ve done it every year since ’05. It is so much fun. You’ve got your hands full but it will be so worth it. Best wishes!

  2. Woo-hoo! It’s NaNo time again! I’m excited too… And I’m a co-ML for the first time this year!

    I don’t have much hope for creating a good novel, or even actually finishing the full story line in 30 days. But one of the troubles I always have is letting go of my OCD tendency to strive for perfection from the start, and just create content. Writing 50,000 mediocre words that work (tho not perfectly) is why I do NaNoWriMo every year. It’s just what I need.

    Front row, hands up… HERE WE GOOOOOOOO!! 😀

Leave a Reply

