Self-Published Reading Challenge

My entire life is running about a week behind at the moment.  Last week was completely consumed by an evil virus that made it’s way through my house with no mercy.  Losing seven days in the middle of December is just fabulous.  Especially when you’ve left all your Christmas prep for the last minute.  Planning Fail.

 

But I digress.  Another thing that’s been left to the last moment is goals/challenges for the coming year.  Here is one that the lovely @RivkaBelle alerted me to a few weeks ago and I’ve been meaning to sign up.  So here I am…signing up.

 

 

The 2012 (Omg, what? Where is my flying car?!?!) Self-Published Reading Challenge is hosted by Sarah at Workaday Reads.  As an almost self-published author I think this is a brilliant idea.  Want to join?  Here are the deets:

 

Challenge Guidelines:

  1. This challenge will run from Jan 1, 2012 – Dec 31, 2012.
  2. Anyone can join, you don’t need to be a blogger. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to sign-up in the comments. You can post reviews to any book site (i.e. Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Goodreads, etc).
  3. Any genre, length or format of book counts, as long as it is self-published by the author.
  4. You can list your books in advance or just put them in a wrap-up post. If you list them, feel free to change them as the mood takes you.
  5. When you sign up in the linky (on her site), put the direct link to your post about joining the Self-Published Reading Challenge.
  6. You can move up levels, but no moving down.
  7. Sign-ups will be open until Dec 15, 2012, so feel free to join at any time throughout the year.

Levels:

  1. Sentence – 5 books
  2. Paragraph- 10 books
  3. Page – 25 books
  4. Chapter – 50 books
  5. Short Story – 75 books
  6. Novel – 100 books
  7. Series – 150 books

 

I’m starting our with the Paragraph Level and attempt to “level up” to at least Page, but I don’t want to set myself up for fail.  My guess is that I will be reading more than ten self-published books this year due to getting to read and review so many great ones through Indie Jane.  Also, I will be self-publishing two of my own this year, so if anyone participating is looking for a good read in February or August, may I suggest Awake: A Fairytale or Attempting Elizabeth? *cough, blatant self-promotion, cough*

 

I don’t have my complete list of ten yet, but I do have a few slots filled:

 

1.  Georgiana Darcy’s Diary by Anna Elliot

2.  Death Benefits by Jennifer Becton (So excited for this one! The first in the series, Absolute Liability, was amazing!)

3.  Nancy Kelley’s as yet untitled Colonel Fitzwilliam book – coming out later in year…sequel to #HotDarcy!

4.  The Darcys of Pemberley by Shannon Winslow

5.  How to Date a Vampire by Rose Pressey

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

 

I’ve got to fill out this list, so I am open to suggestion!  Hit me with your best shot!  Let me know if you sign up for the challenge as well and we can be challenge buddies!

15 thoughts on “Self-Published Reading Challenge

  1. This is a really great reading challenge! I love the idea…of course I’m a self-published author. And thank you for putting Death Benefits on the list! I’m rereading it now, and that means you’ll get your ARC very soon!

  2. I think there’s going to be another #sexyfitzwilliam book too – remember the #duelingfitzwilliams? 😉 Also, if I ever get my butt in gear, you’ll have an #enchanteddarcy to read too!

    We get a little too into #hastags… #isthereagroupforthat? 😉

  3. Self-promotion is always a good thing. Since you promoted yourself, I have discovered a new book called Awake: A Fairytale and I’m adding it to my TBR list. It sounds like a pretty good read.

    I would suggest Vampyre Kisses by Elizabeth J. Kolodziej.

  4. Well, Caroline Bingley and Death Benefits would be on my list. I’d also aa Fearless in High Heels by Gemma Halliday. I’d have to think up some more indie authors. *puts on thinking cap.*

Leave a Reply

