If a Deadline Passes and No One is Around to Hear It

Does it still make that awful whooshing noise as it flies by?

My goal to have the first half of Attempting Elizabeth out to beta readers was today.  It’s not happening, people.  It’s not CLOSE to happening.  It was more important to get everything ready for the release of Awake (just a few more days!), but now that Awake is under control, I’m hoping to hit AE hard, especially as I just recently came to the tragic conclusion that it requires some major rewrites.

 

I have to keep reminding myself that I made the deadline so I can move it.  I still like to beat myself up about it though!

 

What do you do when you miss your self-imposed deadlines?  Wallow?  Cry?  Drink?  Or do you just shrug it off and start again?  I need to learn to do that!

 

So here I go, shrugging it off and starting again!

 

10 thoughts on “If a Deadline Passes and No One is Around to Hear It

  1. Make a new deadline? LOL

    If I miss a deadline I say damn and set a new one. In my case it usuallly ends up working about better when I miss a deadline. My MS gets better which means a better product. Improvements are never done. 🙂

  2. My deadline was laughing in my face, so I moved that puppy yesterday: Feb 29th! 😀
    Nothing like a little leap year magic to make things happen, ya know? 😉
    I like having deadlines, because “due dates” are ingrained in my brain from the years of school…but I like making my own, because I can move them around on my Google Calendar and know nobody’s gonna get bent outta shape. I don’t have a grade depending on it. 🙂

  3. I miss deadlines. It happens when you are pushing yourself to do your best and do it in a timely manner. It’s impossible to hit them all. When I miss one, I just keep moving forward. That’s all you can do.

  4. If rules are made for breaking, then deadlines are made for moving. I thought I’d have a working draft of Col. Fitzwilliam done by January 31. That’s Tuesday, and I’m not even close. I have made some major mental breakthroughs which I’m hoping will lead to an amazingly productive weekend, but I am under no delusions that I will actually be done by Tuesday. (Though if I am, I will throw a huge party.)

    Instead, my goal is to have all the outlining and moving around stuff done by Tuesday, and the draft done by Valentine’s Day. With that plan, I can still have the first section of revised stuff out to my crit partners in mid-March. That’s still six weeks behind schedule, which makes me feel a little panicky… but like Jennifer said, I want to do the best I can do and that means not rushing it. You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.

Leave a Reply

