Lucky 7 Meme

I was tagged by Melissa Buell in her post on this Lucky 7 Writing Meme.

 

 

The Rules

 

*Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP

*Go to line 7

*Copy down the next 7 lines (sentences or paragraphs) and post them exactly as they’re written. No cheating.

*Tag 7 authors

*Let them know

 

My Seven

Here’s the deal, in Pages Atone only currently has 55 pages.  I do not write in a linear fashion, so one of those pages may actually end up being a page 77 because I always, always, always write the beginning 1/4 of the novel last.  Don’t ask me why.  It’s just the way I write.  Plus, we just had a sneak peek of Atone the other day, don’t want to give too much away too soon!  This is from page 77 of another WiP, my hybrid Austenesque sci-fi (what? yes!) called Attempting Elizabeth which I have put away for now and will be working on once Atone is done.

Since the writing of this scene I’ve moved the character from a 23 year old recently graduated grad student to a 19 year old freshman in college.  So it’s now upper YA which means some fun rewrites!  Yay!

AE is written in first person, the main character is Sophie.

 

 Excerpt from Attempting Elizabeth

 

Ian looked at me in utter confusion.  “I have no idea what you are talking about, but I trust that you do.”

“Haven’t you ever read Pride and Prejudice?”  I asked, horrified.

“Sophie, I’m a guy.”

“What is that supposed to mean?  It’s classic literature!  Didn’t you have to read it in school?  As a history person shouldn’t you have read it for a greater understanding of the Regency era?”  I was outraged. My voice was getting higher and higher with every sentence.

“Okay, okay, I’ve read it.  In high school.  As in, I read it one time.  As required reading.   Years ago.  I obviously do not have your level of, uhh, intimacy, with this book.”

I bristled at his inflection on the word “intimacy.”  As if my level of knowledge of the intricate details of Pride and Prejudice was somehow wrong or unhealthy.  Okay, he may have a point regarding the whole “being” in the novel as other people thing, but previous to jumping, my level of obsession was normal-ish.

I mean, I had to be somewhat detail orientated about it.  Literature was my field of study after all, and I specialized in Regency era literature.  There was a certain level of professional pride…I realized I sounded like a completely insane person and could only be thankful I wasn’t saying any of this out loud.  Regardless, Ian could take his sarcastic inflection and stuff it.

 *****

 

I’m tagging the following authors (if you’ve already been tagged, or don’t yet have a page 77, or are against the concept of tagging other people in memes on principle, just ignore this and carry on with your regularly scheduled lives and blog postings):

 

Nancy Kelley

Jennifer Becton

Erica McFarland

Shannon Winslow

Kimberly Noelle

Marianne Hansen

Anna Meade

 

5 thoughts on “Lucky 7 Meme

    1. Thanks Kate! I cannot wait to work on it, but I am horribly distraction prone and had to pick which book to focus on. As soon as Atone is past rough draft stage I can start rewrites on AE 😀 It has been made all the better by the addition of A. Very. Hot. Guy.

Leave a Reply

