Mirror, Mirror

It is already April and this is my first post for the Fairy Tale Challenge.  I promise I am not quite as far behind as it may seem, I’m just behind on writing my Fairy Tale Challenge related posts (see my original post and goal level here).  If you’re interested in joining the challenge head on over to Tiff Talks Books.

 

 

It’s the year of Snow White!  She’s all over the place!  TV shows, multiple movies…Snow White is the fairy tale “it” girl.

 

Mirror, Mirror is a fun, light-hearted take on Snow White.  I wouldn’t quite say it reaches the level of comic sendup, but there are lots of fun wink-wink moments and an “almost breaking the fourth wall” truly funny post modern moment.

 

 

Confession: I am not the biggest Julia Roberts fan.  I somehow just completely missed that bandwagon.  This isn’t to say that I haven’t enjoyed movies that she’s been in, but it’s not like I buy a ticket because she is in something.  However, Julia Roberts was fantastic in this movie.  I like her as a bad guy!  And I like her poking a bit of fun at herself!  She was both evil and funny and, therefore, highly entertaining.

 

I thought the casting of Lily Collins as Snow White was perfect.  She is sweet enough to be the fairy tale princess, but has enough grit to be believable in the scenes that are more sassy and physical.  The costumes in this movie are insane, over the top, and totally gorgeous, and I’m pleased to report that both of the main female characters wear their dresses and not the other way around.

 

 

Armie Hammer as Prince Alcott…Yes.  There’s really not that much to say.  He’s crazy hot.  His chin could cut glass.  He manages to be charming and funny and still remain attractive while under a puppy love curse in which he acts, quite literally, like a puppy.  The verbal sparring mixed with actual sparring that he and Snow White engage in is lots of fun.

 

The weakest part of this movie for me, sad to say, was the dwarves.  They obviously tried to make them funny and clever, but I felt the characters left a lot to be desired.  I don’t think this was in any way due to the actors.  It came across like the writers maybe feeling they “had” to put the dwarves into this otherwise entertaining and clever take on the tale, and not being able to come up with anything as original as the rest of the movie.

 

The absolute best part of this movie?  The Bollywood song in the credits.  I adored it.  But then I’m a huge fan of Hollywood/Bollywood mashups like Bride and Prejudice.  I honestly think this movie would have been even better if they’d just gone the whole way and had Bollywood music numbers throughout.  If they’d been the quality of the song in the credits I would be rating this movie an A instead of a B+.  I really think it was a missed opportunity.

 

*both images from IMDB

 

5 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. It’s too bad the dwarves are a fail, they are always so cute! 🙂

    I don’t have a movie buddy either. I usually wait for a movie to come on DVD and watch it at home. 🙂

  2. I have been teetering about this movie, but you have definitely convinced me to check it out! I tend to enjoy Julia Roberts, but I really gotta see this Bollywood piece!!

Leave a Reply

