Fairy Tale Friday – Red

The blogs Books4Learning and Literary Transgressions are re-launching a weekly meme called Fairy Tale Friday.  Talking about fairy tales, myths, and legends every week?  Don’t mind if I do.

My entry into the Once Upon a Time Writing contest sort of got lost in the mix a bit as it was posted right before the Fairy Tale Giveaway Hop post, so I thought it might be fun to repost as part of this meme.  I promise to have something new and fresh and fairy tale related (maybe my long overdue review of Snow White and the Alien?) for next Friday’s link up.

In the meantime, here is my super short (350 words) fractured fairy tale take on Red Riding Hood.

Red

No sunlight filtered down through the thick canopy this far into the forest. I listened for sounds of movement, pulling the hood of my mottled green cloak tighter. My red hair would attract attention even in the gloom.

There.  The soft sounds of wolves moving through the forest.  They drew closer, their panting now louder than the furious pounding of my heart. They weren’t hunting, but patrolling, guarding the Coven.  Protecting the dark-haired, blue-eyed women who looked as if angels had bent down and molded their forms.  But they were anything but holy.  We lived in fear of their black magic. Fear and hate.

Every so often men from our village disappeared forever.  Sometimes, years later, when the Coven came to trade with the village, you might notice that the children hiding near their skirts seemed familiar.  A tilt of their eyes, or a dimple, or chin.  You could notice, but you couldn’t say anything.

My father vanished when I was young. My mother never spoke of him.  But I remembered.

Now it was Liam, my intended.  He’d been gone for days.  After the first night I knew he wasn’t returning.  I couldn’t just stand quietly and wait for a black-haired witch to have a babe that looked like my love.

The wolves were near enough now.  There were two. A young grey and an older wolf with russet fur.

I loosed my arrow, straight and true, into the heart of the grey wolf, catching them by surprise.  The red leapt at me, snarling and flashing teeth.  I dropped my bow, drawing my dagger.  As we collided, I thrust with all of my might.  His yelp told me I had wounded him gravely.  He fell, and I stood, miraculously still alive, watching his life bleed out.

As his breath stilled he began to change.  The fur faded and before me lay a man…one I remembered well although I hadn’t seen him since I was a child.

“Red,” the dying gasp came from behind me. I turned toward the big grey, my blood freezing in anguish.

“Liam!”

5 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Friday – Red

  1. Wow! Great story! I love your original version. I look forward to reading “Awake” even more! Thank you for joining Fairy Tale Friday this week! I hope to see you every week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

