Help Me Name Characters!

While I’m not working on the novelization of Red (officially…I’m totally writing the whole thing in my head) until I’m done with Atone: A Fairytale, I am putting it on the list for this year.  I have some really exciting things planned for this story and I can’t wait to share more.

I think I’ve told you before about how I am a complete fail when it comes to character names, so I’m asking for your help in naming some characters!  I need both male and female (vaguely) Germanic sounding names.  Here are some characters that have yet to be named:

Red’s Mom (she’s an herbalist)

Red’s Dad (he was a huntsman)

Red’s Boyfriend (currently named Liam in the short story, but that’s too Irish sounding)

Plus, I need a whole bucket full of names for the beautiful, man-stealing witches.

Let me know in the comments if you have any favorites that you’ll let me use!  The only two names I can currently reveal are:

Ingrid and Garrett

And don’t you just want to know who Garrett is?  I’m not telling!  I will, however, tell you that he is very, very hot.

12 thoughts on “Help Me Name Characters!

  1. Red’s boyfriend: Lief? (It’s close to Liam, but has that Nordic/Germanic/exotic delightfulness to it … I’m picturing hott woodsy Viking-type dude … ahem)

    Red’s Mom … Marta? Magda? Marne?

    Red’s Dad … Wilhelm the Hunter 😉

    Witch-y types? Oh stars … Do they need to be Germanic-ish too? Because you could get really artsy and use the various goddesses who were gorgeous/romance/etc (Diana, Freya, Aphrodite, etc …) Just a random tired-brain thought 🙂

  2. Yay for names!! I love me some awesome names. 😉

    Red’s Mom – Bergenie, Günsel, Lavendel, Lobelie (all German plant names)
    Red’s Dad -Jäger (literally German for “hunter”), jagen (“hunt”),
    Red’s Boyfriend – Baden, Brynner, Lukas, Werner

    Witch names
    Lavi
    Draca
    Lyra
    Neilyn
    Selene

  3. I am the un-name-y-est person in the world, so I am 0 help. I love Rebecca’s suggestion of Marne for the mother though–that’s a lovely name. And Erich is a nice, Germanic sounding name. Fennella gets my vote for the witch.

  4. Lol oh I’m the queen of witchy names. Gwendolyn, Kassandra, Hekate, Delilah, Jezebel, Marina, Moira, Sapphira, Joslyn and Nathalia

Leave a Reply

