Atone Update

Atone is currently out to my fabulous beta readers! I always think I am going to experience this euphoric sense of relief or excitement when I finish a draft and for some reason I never do. What I usually experience is an overwhelming urge to run and hide because I know that the REALLY hard work is about to begin.

This could be because I am just a wee bit hard on myself. I need to lighten up and just celebrate the completion of a draft! I could even take myself out to dinner with an overstuffed lion as this Beauty seems to be doing:

I like this beast. He looks snuggly. This is from Once Upon a Time: A Book of Old-Time Fairy Tales. Margaret Evans Price, illustrator, 1921.
I like this beast. He looks snuggly. This is from Once Upon a Time: A Book of Old-Time Fairy Tales. Margaret Evans Price, illustrator, 1921.

While my fantastic beta readers have their hands on Nicholas Hunt…er, I mean, on my manuscript, I thought it would be fun to share some of my play list for Atone. Each books seems to find its own soundtrack, and in the case of Atone it is very Jennifer Knapp heavy. As in, ALL Jennifer Knapp and one other song. Here are the top tracks that inspired scenes in Atone:

Fallen by Jennifer Knapp off the Letting Go Album

 

Goodnight LA by Counting Crows from the Hard Candy album. They’re amazing live.

Want for Nothing by Jennifer Knapp of the Letting Go Album

I will be sending out a more complete update on Atone: A Fairytale in my first ever newsletter. Make sure to sign up to receive it if you haven’t already!

2 thoughts on “Atone Update

  1. Jennifer Knapp! I used to listen to her ALL the time back in high school and college. I actually kind of forgot about her…hmmm. Oh, and Counting Crows too. I remember loving “Sullivan Street” an awful lot. 🙂

    So excited to hear that ATONE is getting that much closer to publication. Can’t wait to read it!

    1. Jaime, she sort of disappeared for about 8 years then came out with an album in 2010. Both those songs are from that album 🙂

      I’m excited that Atone is getting closer to publication too, lol!

Leave a Reply

