Last Week’s Recommendations

Because I am participating in the Jane Austen Giveaway Hop last week’s book recommendation post has been bumped to today! Here’s what I recommended on Facebook and Twitter last week!

1.  Clockwise by Ellie Strauss.  This is a fun contemporary YA about time travel!  So you get modern America, pre-Civil War, and a bit of the 1960s.  I adore time travel done well.

Clockwise

2.  Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen.  This is one of the often overlooked Austen novels.  It is so much!  I love it.

Northanger Abbey

3.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  Great adaptation of Cinderella.  You know I love fairy tale adaptations, and Meyer is pretty great at world building.  I liked Scarlet even better than Cinder, but you should definitely read Cinder first!

Cinder

4.  The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I read through all of the Sherlock Holmes novels and short story collections this year.  I love so many of the shorts in this collection.

 The Return of Sherlock Holmes

5.  Once Upon a Second Chance by Marian Vere.  I reviewed this book for Indie Jane last year and was so glad I got the chance.  It’s a sweet and fun modern adaptation of Austen’s Persuasion.

Once Upon a Second Chance

What are you reading right now?

Leave a Reply

