Need Your Recommendations

We are getting close to the end of the year and I’ve got like 7 books left on my Goodreads goal for the year.  No big deal meeting the goal, really (and several of those will get sucked up by the last Narnia books).  My problem is always picking what book to read next.  I always think I know what I want to read, and I do actually use the “to be read” shelf (occasionally), but when push comes to shove and I’m cruising around Amazon with credit card in hand I tend to panic and remain indecisive.

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

However, I’ve had some really great luck with reader recommendations recently! I finally read Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George based on Rebecca Fleming’s recommendation, and recently The Scarecrow King by Jill Myles based on Nicole’s suggestion.  Both were super fun reads.

The Scarecrow King

So here is where you come in! I really want to hear what your best fairy tale related reads have been.  I have at least five slots to fill before the end of the year.  It doesn’t have to be something super recent because there’s always a chance I’ve missed something good!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Need Your Recommendations

  1. Ohmygosh.
    Okay, there are two books that you NEED to read:
    Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier. It’s a YA loose retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses (and my favourite book of all time). I highly recommend it!
    And the second is Heart’s Blood, also by Juliet Marillier. This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and also one of my favourite books.
    Marillier has an amazing writing style, and I hope you check these out, because they are definitely worth the read 😀

  2. Yay! Glad you liked George’s retelling 😀
    Wildwood Dancing is DEFINITELY one you should read! Hmm … Trying to think of what other fairy tales I’ve read that you haven’t …
    You’ve read EAST (Pattou)? ICE (Durst)? (To continue the “East o’ the Sun, West o’ the Moon” theme) … Geez, woman, I think we read so many of the same it’s tricksy 😉 Ooooh, TOWERING by Flinn? It’s a modern Rapunzel, pretty cool. STRANDS OF BRONZE AND GOLD (Nickerson) is the Bluebeard tale, and pretty Southern gothic, lol …

      1. I did like it … it was a little weird (but shouldn’t fairy tales be?), but didn’t go where I thought it might … It was an interesting approach to Rapunzel.
        Also, yesterday during my NCLive training, I made a list of titles I discovered that are Beauty & the Beast-y … of course, I left it at home, but I’ll send them your way soon 😉 One Aussie title looks really cool!

Leave a Reply

