2014 – The Year of the Girlfriend

Most of my really good girlfriends don’t live near me.  This is due to a variety of reasons: me moving from California to Montana, friends from Montana moving other places, and having lots of friends that I met on the internet.

One of the “life” (as in not writing) goals I’ve made for myself for 2014 is to focus more on spending time with my girlfriends, and in my case that means traveling.

At the end of this month I’m meeting up with Nancy and Patty in Portland for Nancy’s Birthday.  The city might not survive us, but it will be a blast!  I cannot wait…I even have a countdown ticker!

In March, I’m heading to Arizona to spend some quality time watching Spring Training baseball with my friend Tracey.

I also hope to get in one L.A. trip to visit my BFF (hopefully for my birthday?) and possibly a reunion with my best Montana (now east coast) friend Tiffany.  This is going to require a lot of planning and travel, but I’m hopeful.  There’s nothing like spending time with girlfriends to recharge your batteries.

What do you like to do for girlfriend time?

6 thoughts on “2014 – The Year of the Girlfriend

  1. I love it! I’m looking forward to the tweets that come out of evilcon 2014, too.

    A few of my girlfriends and I have ballet tickets–a mini-season with the SF Ballet. We get dressed up and go out for a fancy dinner first. This year we’re spoiling ourselves and have gotten a box for Cinderella. There may be ball gowns and tiaras involved, too.

    1. Beth, this sounds like sooo much fun! I wish I had more girlfriends that lived near me! I’m down to two!

      The tweets coming out of evilcon are going to be BEYOND EPIC though I’ve made Nancy promise to not let me tweet tipsy 😉

  2. I think we may have to wear tutus and tiaras when we go to Downtown Disney. ❤

    SO MANY PLANS!! Writing everywhere, reading, critiquing…Angels game!

    1. I have to update this post – I wrote it before the Writer’s Retreat plan became reality. And yes, we should wear tutus and tiaras! And YES writing/reading/critiquing at ALL THE PLACES! (and baseball, always, always baseball).

  3. I don’t have any girlfriends here so far. I’m starting to meet people, but haven’t met anyone to hang with.

    Over Christmas, I went to Arizona and met up with a couple girlfriends! On the way to Tucson, I stop to see Mary. In Tucson, I had lunch with Laurie. And my old neighbor and best friend, Careylyn was also visiting from Montana, so I got to spend some time with her too! Yay!

Leave a Reply

